To Connect.

IgneousHands
3 min readJan 17, 2022
Photo by Yousef Espanioly on Unsplash

My eyes meet yours to start the bond

Your floral scent follows me as if it’s an extension of yourself, pulling me to come speak with you

You want to learn more about me, and vice versa; my mystery attracts you

We bump into each other during break, two empty seats ahead

I look to you, and you to me. Without words, we choose to sit.

Normally, I am confident in my interactions with attractions

But there’s something about this that has me feeling… hesitant

Your energy draws me closer, but intimidates me simultaneously

I’m wondering if you feel this too…

The urge to express your deepest fears and desires

Tell me of your favorite food, your favorite color, favorite flower

The things that bring you comfort, and the opposite

Sharing all the things that you love about yourself

Being vulnerable to a complete stranger, almost

Pouring your heart out to me, and ask by the day’s end: “So do you like me?”

Although “like” would be a little too soon to identify as we still have so much more time to spend, to get to know one another

--

--

IgneousHands

Shawn Newsome. | My stories are a combination of my life’s experiences, the experiences of others, and the things that come to mind.