I’m Not As Invincible As I Thought.

GentleWarrior.
2 min readJan 20, 2022
Kryptonite | DC Comics

I’d dive into relationships head first before

Always confident that they’d work out in the end

I loved the idea of being the solution to the issue

Your problems became our problems, not a very healthy environment for myself

As much as I threw myself out there to provide for my partner, I struggled to come up with an answer to my question:

“Why was it so difficult for me?”

To find a love that would last forever..

To finally have the family that I’d always wanted..

As time passed in my years of adulthood, I began to hate the concept of superman.. because he’s believed to be the epitome of perfection

I didn’t like how, on the surface, he had no flaws because it was unrealistic, and cliché

No one is perfect in this world, though the funny thing is that I’ve tried to be, constantly

I’ve always seen myself as the man that one would be crazy to pass up

I’d never taken into account that people have their own things that they deal with, internally

I’d never considered that people change, everyday, and that who you’d fell in love with 5 years ago, will not be the same person today

--

--

GentleWarrior.

Shawn Newsome. | My stories are a combination of my life’s experiences, the experiences of others, and the things that come to mind.